David M. Holtzman MD

Washington University in St. Louis

David M. Holtzman, MD, attended the Honors Program in Medical Education at Northwestern University receiving his B.S. (1983) and M.D. (1985). He did medical internship followed by Neurology residency at UCSF from 1985-1989. He then did post-doctoral research training in the lab of William C. Mobley, MD, PhD, at UCSF from 1989-1994. At UCSF, he also established the Memory and Cognitive Disorders Clinic and was an Assistant Professor from 1991-1994. He moved to his own laboratory at Washington University in December of 1994. He was named as Associate Professor of Neurology in 2001, Professor in November of 2002, and as the Andrew and Gretchen Jones Professor and head of the Department of Neurology in October 2003. In addition to his laboratory, administrative, and teaching duties, Dr. Holtzman is involved in clinical and research activities at the Washington University Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center and is scientific director of the Hope Center for Neurological Disorders. Dr. Holtzman’s research provides fundamental new insights into Alzheimer disease (AD). He has shown how apoE4 contributes to AD via Aβ and tau, how synaptic activity and sleep affect amyloid-β (Aβ) and tau dynamically in vivo, and developed promising anti-Aβ and anti-tau antibodies now in phase II and III clinical trials. Past honors include being the recipient of a Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholar Award in Aging Research, recipient of the Potamkin Prize from the American Academy of Neurology for research on Alzheimer’s (2003), election to the American Society for Clinical Investigation (2004), receiving a MERIT award from the NIA (2004), being a recipient of the MetLife award on Alzheimer’s disease (2006), election to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences (2008), being a recipient of the alumni merit award from Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine (2010), being appointed to the National Advisory Council of the NINDS (2011), a recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (2013), being elected Fellow of the AAAS (2014), a recipient of the Carl and Gerty Cori Faculty Achievement Award at Washington University (2015), being elected president-elect of the American Neurological Association (2015), and being appointed to National Advisory Council of the National Institute on Aging (2016).