Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Symposium

Date/Time: Sunday, October 21, 2018 - 1:15 PM to 3:15 PM
Type: Plenary
Room: Centennial III & IV

Session Overview

Chair: Allison Brashear, MD, PhD – Wake Forest University
Co-Chair: Andrew J. Cole, MD, FRCP(C) – Harvard Medical School

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Symposium is an opportunity for young researchers to share groundbreaking research in the field of Neurology. This symposium will feature sessions from the three 2018 Derek Denny-Brown awardees, the Wolfe Neuropathy Research Prize awardee and the Grass Award recipient.

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award recognizes early- to mid-career neurologists and neuroscientists. This award honors those neurologists and neuroscientists in the first 10 years of their career at the assistant/associate faculty (equivalent) level who have made outstanding basic and clinical scientific advances toward the prevention, diagnosis, treatment and cure of neurological diseases. As of 2018, the Membership, Honorary and Awards Committee can designate up to a total of three (3) awards in any of the following three areas: Physician Scientist - Basic, Physician Scientist - Clinical, Neuroscientist - relevant to disease. This year the committee has awarded two (2) Physician Scientist - Basic and one (1) Physician Scientist - Clinical.

The 2018 Grass Foundation - ANA Award in Neuroscience was established in 2007 to recognize outstanding young physician scientists conducting research in basic or clinical neuroscience. The Grass Foundation was established in 1955 by Albert and Ellen Grass to advance research and education in neuroscience, with a special focus on investigators early in their careers.

The Wolfe Neuropathy Research Prize for Investigators Identifying New Causes or Novel Treatments of Axonal Peripheral Neuropathy was established to honor outstanding investigators who identify a new cause or treatment of axonal peripheral neuropathy. Eligible candidates include faculty members at any stage in their career (MD, MD/PhD, or PhD) who identify either a new cause or treatment of axonal peripheral neuropathy. The same researcher can qualify for this award annually if he/she can demonstrate evidence of repeated success in identifying new causes or treatments for axonal peripheral neuropathy.